Back to home page


What is the Governing Body?

All schools in England have a Governing Body which is responsible for overseeing many of the strategic decisions of the school. A key role is to act as a ‘critical friend’: to support, to challenge, to ask questions, ultimately to represent the school community.

The Governing Body works in close partnership with the head teacher, staff and the local authority. Whilst the head teacher is, of course, responsible for the day to day running of the school, the governors are involved with staffing, curriculum, school buildings and finance. It ensures the school functions well and maintains the proper range of academic and social objectives.


Mr Umesh Shah

Vice Chair

Ms Valerie Springer

Local Authority Governor

Anita Thakker


Ms Jude Towell

Parent Governors

Ms Charlene White

Ms Michelle Sirkett

Ms Anna Gray

Staff Governors

Ms Marion Joseph

Co-opted Governors

Fr Patrick McLoughlin

Ms Valerie Springer

Mr Umesh Shah

Cllr Wilhelmina Mitchell- Murray

Mrs Gargi Joshi

There are 11 Governors:

  • 3 Parent Governors – elected by the parent body
  • 1 Local Authority Governor – appointed by Brent Council
  • 1 Headteacher
  • 1 Staff Governors – 1 Staff – elected by the staff*
  • 5 Co-opted Governors – appointed by the governing body in order to provide a balance of skills across the governing body.

The standard term of office for a governor is four years. The chair and vice-chair are elected annually for a one year term which normally runs from 1st August to 31st July. *All staff can make nominations and vote whether vacancy is for a teacher or support staff member. Much of the work of the Governing Body is done by committees. The Committees usually meet at least once a term.

The committees are:

Curriculum & Achievement Committee:
Michelle Sirkett, Anna Gray, Valerie Springer, Charlene White, Marion Joseph and the Head teacher.

Finance and Staffing Committee:
Fr Patrick McLoughlin, Umesh Shah, Wilhelmina Mitchell-Murray, Gargi Joshi, Anita Thakker and the Headteacher.

Procedural Committees:
All eligible Governors would be available to serve on panels of three for specific meetings. The Clerk was authorised to call Governors to serve in consultation with the Headteacher and the Chair.

Performance Review Governors:
Wilhelmina Mitchell-Murray, Patrick McLoughlin, Gargi Joshi, Umesh Shah & Charlene White (at least 2 according to availability)

Link Governors

Creative Curriculum KS1 Governor: Anna Gray

Creative Curriculum KS2 Governor: Valerie Springer

Target-Setting Governors: Umesh Shah & Patrick McLoughlin

SMSC Governor: Charlene White & Michelle Sirkett

Safeguarding Governor: Anna Gray & Umesh Shah

Health & Safety Governor: Patrick McLoughlin