What is the Governing Body?

All schools in England have a Governing Body which is responsible for overseeing many of the strategic decisions of the school. A key role is to act as a ‘critical friend’: to support, to challenge, to ask questions, ultimately to represent the school community.

The Governing Body works in close partnership with the head teacher, staff and the local authority. Whilst the head teacher is, of course, responsible for the day to day running of the school, the governors are involved with staffing, curriculum, school buildings and finance. It ensures the school functions well and maintains the proper range of academic and social objectives.

There are 11 Governors:

  • 3 Parent Governors – elected by the parent body
  • 1 Local Authority Governor – appointed by Brent Council
  • 1 Headteacher
  • 1 Staff Governors – 1 Staff – elected by the staff*
  • 5 Co-opted Governors – appointed by the governing body in order to provide a balance of skills across the governing body.

The standard term of office for a governor is four years. The chair and vice-chair are elected annually for a one year term which normally runs from 1st August to 31st July. *All staff can make nominations and vote whether vacancy is for a teacher or support staff member. Much of the work of the Governing Body is done by committees. The Committees usually meet at least once a term.

The committees are:

Curriculum & Achievement Committee:

  • Anna Gray, Valerie Springer, Charlene White, Marion Joseph and the Head teacher.

Finance and Staffing Committee:

  •  Wilhelmina Mitchell- Murray, Fr Patrick McLoughlin, Umesh Shah, Gargi Joshi, Anita Thakker and the Headteacher.

Procedural Committees:

  • All eligible Governors would be available to serve on panels of three for specific meetings. The Clerk was authorised to call Governors to serve in consultation with the Headteacher and the Chair.

Performance Review Governors

  • Wilhelmina Mitchell-Murray, Patrick McLoughlin & Umesh Shah (at least 2 according to availability)

Link Governors

  • Creative Curriculum KS1 Governor - Anna Gray
  • Creative Curriculum KS2 Governor - Valerie Springer
  • Target-Setting Governors - Umesh Shah & Wilhelmina Mitchell-Murray
  • SMSC Governor - Charlene White
  • Safeguarding Governor - Anna Gray & Charlene White
  • Health & Safety Governor - Patrick McLoughlin


  • Mr Umesh Shah

Vice Chair

  • Ms Valerie Springer

Local Authority Governor

  • Anita Thakker

Head teacher

  • Ms Jude Towell

Parent Governors

  • Ms Charlene White
  • Ms Anna Gray

Staff Governors

  • Ms Marion Joseph

Co-opted Governors

  • Fr Patrick McLoughlin
  • Ms Valerie Springer
  • Mr Umesh Shah
  • Cllr Wilhelmina Mitchell- Murray
  • Mrs Gargi Joshi
to replace pic in govenors


thumbnail of Assessibilty Plan Updated NEW FORMAT
Assessibilty Plan

thumbnail of Anti Bullying Policy
Anti Bullying Policy

thumbnail of Behaviour Policy
Behaviour Policy

thumbnail of Charging and Remissions Policy
Charging and Remissions Policy

Child Protection and Safeguarding

thumbnail of Complaints Policy and Procedures
Complaints Policy and Procedures

thumbnail of Data Protection Policy
Data Protection Policy

thumbnail of Equality Statement
Equality Statement

thumbnail of Health and Safety Policy
Health and Safety Policy

thumbnail of Home School Agreement
Home School Agreement

thumbnail of Managing Medical & Medicines Policy
Managing Medical & Medicines Policy

Relationships and Sex Education Policy

Remote Learning Policy

SEND Offer September 2020

thumbnail of SEN policy UPDATED NEW FORMAT
Special Education Needs Policy

Whitsleblowing Policy

If you require a hard copy of policies or any information, please contact school office on 0208 451 6961.